Ringing in the new year.

Happy new year! Fresh from the Greyhound bus with lastnight’s makeup on (classy, I know) I am glad to say I survived NYE 2011 in the States!  I spent NYE in Seattle since I knew I didn’t want to stay in Vancouver with our lame nightclub scene. I went to party with Far East Movement at iMusic with my cheer girls, Steph and Karen, whom I have never travelled with — let’s just say that we need to plan another trip ASAP. So much fun despite the rocky start. And by rocky, I mean I will never travel with Greyhound again. To make a long story short, we missed our initial bus (we were supposed to depart on the 30th) due to miscommunication and stupid idiots that work there. Everything worked out in the end. Nonstop drinking, gorgeous weather, and of course, the food…
PF Changs Icon Grill
Pike Place Market Steelhead Diner
Steelhead Diner Steelhead Diner

Because I was in the States, I had to go to PF Changs. I know, Americanized Chinese food. Don’t judge — it’s so good. Last time I was there in LA, I had the Garlic Noodles and have been trying to recreate it with no success. Obviously I had to order that. Egg noodles tossed with garlic, chilies, fresh cucumber and cilantro. Yum. Steph had ordered the Dan Dan Noodles which were also very good. Spicy, saucy, savoury. Yum. Also had ordered some dim sum as well: Pork and Chicken Sticky Rice and Lemongrass Chicken. Less than stellar. Dumpling wrappers were thick and chewy and just plain unappetizing. Probably should’ve known from going to a White Chinese resto. Never again…yuck. Happy hour drinks were also super yummy and made strong — loved the PFX, hot sake, and Asian Pear Mojito. Great start to NYE!

PF Changs Top Pots Doughnuts
Alas, I have no photos from the actual evening at iMusic due to the major overconsumption of alcohol. Drinking since 3pm during happy hour, downing three bottles of wine, and then more drinks at the club…yeah. Good times!!! Steph had to leave us the next morning due to her fajaaa being in town so me and Karen sought some post-NYE food. After passing by a bunch of closed restaurants, we discovered Icon Grill. After drunkenly buying Kraft Dinner the night before, I was feigning for some mac ‘n cheese. I had ordered the Hog Wild Mac ‘N Cheese since it was apparently a winner at some competition. Delish. Creamy, four cheese sauce topped with slow-roasted pulled pork and caramelized onions. Hello heart attack! Karen had the Shrimp ‘n Grits. Can’t speak for the shrimp since I’m allergic but the grits were just mediocre. Although it was cheesy, it was bland, lacked overall seasoning and salt. Service sucked. Our grumpy server pretty much ruined the experience for us. Boo! Wanting to leave, we didn’t stay for dessert. Instead, went to Top Pot Doughnuts after seeing other foodies (Follow Me Foodie and Sherman’s Food Adventures) rave about it. I had the Maple Cake Doughnut. A cakey, dense doughnut with a super creamy maple glaze. So good and filling.

Harry Potter exhibit Pacific Science Center
Another main reason for coming down to Seattle was for the Westcoast premiere of Harry Potter: The Exhibit at the Pacific Science Center. Featuring costumes and memoribilia from the seven Harry Potter films and me being the biggest diehard fan ever, I had to go. It was such a well-done exhibit! The detailing on the costumes were stunning and just the fact that I was so close to clothes that Professor Snape and Ron Weasley wore made me cream a little. AND I got sorted into Gryffindor, what! Pure amazeballs. Walked out with an official Gryffindor scarf and Chocolate Frog.
Space Needle Pike Place
For our last meal, Karen’s friend had suggested this super awesome restaurant in the center of Pike Place called Steelhead Diner, which features an ongoing changing menu. Right by the wharf and fish market, I thought the menu would be wholely seafood but to my surprise, there were a ton of options for the allergy-ridden me! Since I was already on a roll with the uber-fattening food, I opted for the Herbed Tagliatelle Pasta with Sherry Cream Sauce. The handmade pasta, something I always appreciate, was superb, although it stuck together a little bit, and the shaved black truffles on top added a notch of luxury. So damn good. The desserts, on the otherhand, were definitely not their strong point. Karen had a Vanilla Creme Brulee with Vanilla Shortbread and I had the Lemon Cake with Lemon Curd. Creme Brulee was perfect, not too eggy, definitely more of a creamy prescence. Shortbread was crap. Tasted like a lady finger. My lemon cake did not have any lemon zest or lemon in it… Gah. Oh well. Entrees were amazing though!

Overall, amazing trip. What a great start to 2011! You know what they say, how you spend New Years is the way you spend the rest of the year. Poppin’ bottles in the club like a blizzard in the States for NYE? Looks like this year’s going to be a big one!

Leave a Reply

