Tomorrow: Cupcake Throwdown.

If you haven’t tried my Dolce Delights cupcakes already, tomorrow is the day! I will be competing in the 2nd Annual Cupcake Throwdown at Cafe Deux Soleil on Commercial Drive.  The event is scheduled from 7:00-10:00pm and $10.00 admission.  All proceeds from the event go towards H.A.V.E. (Hope Action Values Ethics) which is a social enterprise based in the DTES which sends disenfranchised youth to culinary school for 8 weeks where they get to learn culinary and practical skills by preparing food for the H.A.V.E Cafe.  This is an issue that I definitely support because it gives certain at-risk youth the opportunity to discover and practice their talent and hidden potential.  And also because I am huge fan of food and cooking. So please do come out and support!  Not just for me, but because this is going towards a great cause.

I am still deliberating on which cupcake I should make for tomorrow. It’s probably going to be something experimental. Right now, I am leaning towards a Sweet Potato Cupcake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese frosting. Still debating if I should fill them with a creme anglaise as well… And should I make it vegan?  Hm… We’ll see on how much time I have after I finish school in the afternoon.  Hope to see (and meet!) some fantastic bakers, tweeps, and good company.

PS. Samples will be given out. And when I say samples, I mean whole mini cupcakes. Yeah. Be there.

One Comment on “Tomorrow: Cupcake Throwdown.”

  1. […] we headed to Six Acres for some nibbles and draaankz. I won a $40 giftcard from my winnings at the 2nd Annual Cupcake Throwdown so we used that up and ordered the Sweet & Spicy Wings, Sausage Plate, and the Charcuterie […]


Leave a Reply

