A little vino, a little sake, and a little Bruno.

I had the opportunity to attend a few events earlier this week. On Monday night, I had to opportunity to volunteer at the annual Forum for Women Entrepreneurs Gala, Once Upon a Grapevine, at the Fairmont Waterfront. I had a super awesome internship with the FWE last semester and it was so great to see some of the women that I have read about and projects that I had previously worked on come to life. I was selling raffle tickets the whole night… 2nd place, I believe? The highlight of my night (besides meeting some fabulous ladies and entrepreneurs) was probably when I sold tickets to the Honourable Gordon Campbell (so cool!!!). He also said my name. Yeah..what!
FWE GalaI also had the chance to sample some delicious local wines by Quails Gate, Raven Ridge, and a cider-based dessert one that I can’t remember the name of. If someone recalls what this wine is (yellow in colour), please let me know because I can honestly drink that all day long. Yum.
Hapa UmiLastnight, I began my orientation at the new Hapa Umi, coincidentally right across from the Fairmont Waterfront at Canada Place. Got to meet the owners and new coworkers and was introduced to the Hapa family. The space is absolutely beautiful — I was actually very impressed. Got to try some more wine, some items on the menu, and sake. Can’t really say much, but I am super excited for the opening early next month which is quickly approaching.
Bruno MarsAnd Bruno? Well, I’m going to see the beloved Bruno Mars at Rogers Arena on June 3rd. These artists need to stop coming to Vancouver — I’m seriously going broke.

Photo credit for Hapa Umi by Scout Magazine.

Leave a Reply

