Seattle: Part deux.

SeattleSo I spontaneously went to Seattle this past weekend to support a friend of mine who was in the Spirit Cheer Best in the Northwest Nationals in Tacoma. Despite the drama that happened prior to us coming down, I actually had a lot of fun! It was great to escape Vancouver for a little bit even though that time should have been dedicated to studying. Oops.
Jack in the Box Junk food Chips Taco Bell
Of course, whenever I head down to the States, I always go on a junk food binge. First stop when we arrived? Jack in the Box. I have never tried Jack in the Box ever so I gotta say that I was pretty excited. A group of three small Asian girls, we ordered the Cheese Fries and Sliders. By the time we finished that, it was too late to go to the club so we went to 7-11 and picked up some $6.99 wine, sausage, sandwiches, and a wide flavour assortment of chips. Classy, I know. Passed out, woke up, and got free breakfast (biscuits and sausage gravy, omg) at a ridiculous hour (6:00am!!!) which was actually pretty decent. Um… and it didn’t stop there. Had the $5 Box at Taco Bell. Yes. We’re disgusting. What can I say? This is how we do fat.
America's Got Talent We got to the Greater Tacoma Convention & Trade Center only to find out that the venue was not only hosting the cheer competition, but also America’s Got Talent. I had contemplated randomly lining up and auditioning but unfortunately, that didn’t happen. I tried to sneak on camera too, but that didn’t happen either! FAIL.
Avocado Rolls Garlic Noodles BBQ Ranch Salad Cheesecake Factory
After being stuck in Tacoma for a good hour and being bored out of our minds (there really isn’t anything there) as everything was closed on Sundays, we decided to venture out to Downtown Seattle. As if we hadn’t had enough food, we decided to grab some grub at the Cheesecake Factory. Knowing how half the menu is either deep-fried or doused in whipped cream or a heart attack of some sort, we attempted to be “healthy” and consume our food in moderation. What a mistake.  Even the lunch-sized portions were fucking massive. We ordered the Avocado Roll, half order of BBQ Ranch Chicken Salad, and a half order of Garlic Noodles. Avocado Rolls were to f-ing DIE for. So damn good. Garlic Noodles were good as well… thought they would be tossed in olive oil but I swear it was cooked in a white wine or clear sauce. Pretty good as well. And the salad? Disappointing to say the least. Not only was it the simplest to make, the avocados were hard and the onion rings on top were cold even though they had stated it was just made minutes ago. Gross.
KukuruzaAfter some miscommunication, we had to head back to Tacoma. By the bus stop was this cute little gourmet popcorn place called Kukuruza. I had to get a small gift for gym guy so I bought him a tin of the Maple Bacon popcorn. So good! Will have to try the Tuxedo flavour next time. Also passed by a Seattle-version of Japadog, Gourmet Dog Japon, which was also on the way to our bus stop. Similar, but different flavours. I love street food, so I will definitely have to try this next time I’m in town.
Spirit Cheer Spirit Cheer
Back to the convention centre. Sigh. I miss cheer so much. So weird being there as a spectator and not as a competitor. It’s okay though — I had so much fun! Great teams out there, honestly. Especially on American turf. My friend’s team, Panthers Athletics, got first place — national champions! Congrats guys!!! Celebrated at the border at Shari’s with a Spring Spinach Omelette and Loaded Potato Soup. We make fat sexy.

All in all, it was a quick getaway. Can’t wait for some real trips later this year!

One Comment on “Seattle: Part deux.”

  1. […] (shorts) which are worn underneath the skirt. I have no problem with this. But when I went down to Tacoma last weekend for a cheer competition, I was a little flabbergasted and how much the uniforms have changed within […]


Leave a Reply

