Frozen Food Chronicles: Part 1.

Michelinas Lasagna with Meat SauceSo my mom has bought a plethora of frozen food lately, pretty much enough to feed an army, and since there wasn’t much frozen food in my household while growing up and the fact that I am way too busy to cook nowadays, I have decided to sample each and every frozen item in my freezer. Why? Why not? There are millions of food blogs in Vancouver… BUT THERE AREN’T ANY FROZEN FOOD ONES (yet)! I know, I’m amazing. So begins the frozen food journey.
Michelinas Lasagna with Meat Sauce Michelinas Lasagna with Meat Sauce
First up: Michelina’s Lasagna with Meat Sauce. This was actually pretty decent. See the resemblance to the boxed picture? No? And it comes with cheese. REAL cheese, that is. And meat! Score. I’m not going to lie — this is one of the “better” brands of frozen food out there. Approve.
Banquet Mexican Style Chicken Enchillada Meal Banquet Mexican Style Chicken Enchillada Meal
Next? Banquet Mexican Style Chicken Enchillada Meal. The words “Mexican style” and “enchillada” should have been my first warning. Second, I hate frozen meals that require a lot more work than just popping it in the microwave. They’re supposed to be convenient, right?! Nope. This one was “Microwave for 2 1/2 minutes, then stir rice and spoon sauce over enchillada. Microwave for another 2 minutes. Let sit for another 2 minutes”. So you’re telling me, that this “meal” will be done in 6 1/2 minutes!??! Proposterous. I’ll have my Michelina’s. Anyways, anything made “Mexican” is a guaranteed disaster. Rice tasted predominantly of red pepper. Um… red pepper in Mexican rice? Never heard of that. And the enchillada? Let’s not even go there. Chewy tortilla wrapper, jelly-like sauce, and a mysterious unknown meat and/or bean mixture encaved inside. A fail on so many accounts. Yuck.

Gotta say… I am looking forward to this frozen adventure and tar-like poo!

133.0 lbs.

Leave a Reply

