All you need is a little inspiration.

This week has been insanely stressful, suffering from a severe lack of sleep, a flurry of assignments and work, but it has been one of the most fulfilling and rewarding weeks this year. I have ended this week feeling incredibly inspired.
The Buzz EventI’ve been cupcakin’ big time lately. Collaborating with various fundraisers as well as the third ever The Buzz Event at Joseph Richard‘s this past Thursday. I really do hope everyone enjoyed the delicious treats! Baking is a huge hobbie of mine and cupcakes, in particular, as you all know, is something that I take pride and joy in. As an entrepreneur myself, it was super sucky to not physically be in attendance for the second Buzz in a row. Oh well. Atleast my double D’s were there.
MADrenegade: Your Next MoveSo I have been trying to get back into the loop without a smartphone. And yes, it’s a bit more difficult, but hey, I’m making it work. On Friday, I managed to actually have a somewhat free morning so I signed up last-minute for SIFE (Students in Free Enterprise) SFU’s MADrenegade event, Your Next Move. Even though SIFE events are dedicated mainly towards design students, I thought I could learn from it — and I did. Tons of do’s and don’ts in terms of expectations with clients which may be applied to any business or organization. Vincent Wong from RF Productions was the keynote speaker and I learned a ton even though he was speaking from the design perspective. And I also randomly won a free 1-year domain name. Personal website for my next venture? I think so.
Day in the LifeAs you may know, I have been working super hard for the past six months in YWiB SFU’s Project GIVE program in developing a non-profit organization, Day in the Life (DITL). Our program connects youth with professionals in various industries, giving them the opportunity to shadow them, thus experiencing a “day in the life”. The wrap up for the program was this afternoon where we presented a thoroughly detailed business plan in front of a panel of judges in hopes of receiving $2000 from the Canadian Social Entrepreneurship Foundation (CSEF). Although we did not win, we, of course, are still going through with our program and have managed to scoop out some potential mentors for DITL. The whole process of writing a business plan, contacting potential members, our target market, figuring out financials, running our social media streams — the whole PROCESS has been extremely valuable and I am so thankful for taking this project on. I have learned so much that I would have not learned in school, especially considering my background in the Arts. This is probably the best project I have ever worked on and I am extremely proud of my group. And also, our super awesome mentor, Val Litwin (of Blo Blow Dry Bar fame), thank you for being so encouraging and helpful throughout this whole journey. Sad this part of the journey is over…but I am also super excited to actually launch this program! Day in the Life. Fall 2011/Spring 2012. Keep your eye out for it.

3 Comments on “All you need is a little inspiration.”

  1. Eliz says:

    Watched RF Productions at a friend’s wedding a few months ago, their company also hires from the SIAT program too 😉

  2. […] Author:https://likeaphatkidlovescake.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/all-you-need-is-a-little-inspiration/ Share this:EmailFacebookPrintDiggRedditStumbleUpon Tagged with: Inspiration • little • need  If you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing it! You might also like TED Conference: A source of inspiration, particularly for event organizers – Eine Quelle der Inspiration, besonders für Event-Veranstalter I guess… Lack of Electricity is what caused Japan Nuclear Disaster, should we close our plants that rely on electricity?I am all for Nuclear… Hypnosis Sleep Hotfile Fileserve Rapidshare Downloads hypnosis… Severe Weather Snow Removal Due … […]

  3. […] both eye-opening and inspiring; really made me consider if our old group wanted to pursue our old social enterprise project, Day in the Life, a program designed to connect youth in highschools with professionals in their […]


Leave a Reply

