What do you see in this music video?

I started my last summer semester at SFU today with my Sexuality and Society class with this eye-opening music video by Icelandic post-rock group, Sigur Ros. I think it is an incredibly powerful music video that says a lot about gender roles and the attitudes that society exhibits towards the gay and lesbian community. It demonstrates what type of behaviour is socially acceptable for both men and women, boys and girls. As a Gender Studies minor, I am constantly aware of the binaries being presented to us in media, language, and so on. What kind of lens do you wear? What do you see in this music video?
I felt touched when I watched the two boys express their affection for eachother and disgusted at not only the father’s actions, but how the crowd pretty much turned a blind eye, reinforcing the fact that this boy will get the shit kicked out of him when the video ends. It’s sad because it happens all the time. I’m feeling sad right now due to some unforeseen circumstances and the song being played is just calming to me. Sigh.

130.2 lbs

Leave a Reply

