Bye-bye meds.

It’s been six long, exhausting years and today, I have bravely asked my doctors if I could come off the medication and discontinue treatment indefinitely. And they agreed. The majority of you probably don’t even know but I have been suffering from an autoimmune disease since I was sixteen. This particular disease has consumed my life for the past six years and it continues, not necessarily in a negative way, to attack my body. It has greatly altered my appearance and as a woman, appearance is everything. As cliche has it sounds, it has significantly affected my life and because it is so drastic, I have had to take the necessary medications to help alleviate it…with minimal results. It has been difficult. I have had to restrict some of the activities that I love to do and even the thought of something going terribly wrong totally scared me.  The countless hours in the doctors’ office, the blood tests, the thousands of needles injected into my scalp, the stares, the obscene amount of bullying that I had to endure while in higschool…yeah, I am definitely not going to miss that at all.

But I believe it was the right thing to do. Why should I keep consuming experimental chemicals into my body when I am not seeing any results? And don’t get me wrong. It is not that I have lost hope or am not optimistic (because I really am), I just don’t see the point it in anymore. I am actually comfortable with this disease. It has become a part of me and I have accepted it. Yeah, it sucks but I always think to myself that there are much bigger problems in the world. I know who I am.

“See you in six months”, the doctor told me. And that was that. It was bittersweet.

2 Comments on “Bye-bye meds.”

  1. Peter says:

    As long as you are happy with yourself, that is what is important. Keep Smiling!


Leave a Reply

