SFU Student Entrepreneur of the Year.

I feel like I’m so behind on blogging! I thought I would have more time to do stuff, but nope, definitely not the case. Just one more week of this mayhem til…freedom! YES.
SFU SEY final roundPhoto credit: SIFE Simon Fraser.

So I was stuck at the Renaissance Harbourside Hotel for 13.5 hours last Saturday for the 2011 SFU Student Entrepreneur of the Year competition. I actually heard about the competition last year while I was interning at the Forum for Women Entrepreneurs. My former boss’ boyfriend was actually the 2008 winner of the competition and I thought to myself, “Gosh, I really gotta do this competition”. Last year, I knew I wasn’t ready so this year I was confident enough to apply. I managed to succeed through the preliminary rounds and secured a spot in the Top 10 as a semi-finalist for my cupcake venture, Dolce Delights.
SFU SEYPhoto credit: SIFE Simon Fraser.

As Tyra Banks would say, the competition was fierce. There was a good array of businesses that emerged from recent graduates and students just like me. Unfortunately, I didn’t make it to finals but honestly, I’m kind of glad I didn’t. The judges were ruthless yet informative. I don’t think I recognized any of the “business” terminology they were using. I probably would have started crying. But all in all, a well-put together event! I was glad to represent all the ladies (the only female contender… really!? Girls need to step it up!!) and the Arts. Also received some very good feedback from the semi-finalist judges which I believe will help me succeed.
Dolce DelightsHonestly, I’m a little sad that it’s over. It was definitely a great experience. Learned a lot about business in general and my business itself. Also met some really inspiring individuals and made new connections. I would definitely do it over again if I could.

Leave a Reply

