Labels/titles.

Irritate me. Why is there an inherent need to label things/people? People feel compelled to slap a label on practically everything. Girlfriend/boyfriend, single/taken, butch/femme, top/bottom, good/bad, legal/illegal. The dichotomous way in which society functions is utterly problematic as there are many individuals that do not fit the cookie cutter mould. For example, intersex individuals. What’s that? Lady Gaga. Google it. As a gender studies minor, I’m very familiar with the term. It’s a grey area which can be described as neither girl or boy. An inbetween. No, not a hermaphrodite (in some cases, yes).  Quick to label, see?  It’s an example of a grey area. And considering the amount of people that do not abide by conventional standards, I am constantly baffled by the fact that these “grey areas” are still considered to be socially unacceptable. I really don’t understand the importance of it. Labelling, which is most often do in a negative way, demonstrates poor education and ignorance, in my opinion.

And titles. Everyone has a fucking title nowadays. Foodie. Blogger. Business Administration Candidate. WTF?  I have a good laugh whenever someone follows me on Twitter because they try to squeeze in every possible title in their tiny Bio section. Uh, I thought Twitter was supposed to be condensed and to the point? Right.

First of all, everybody is a “self-proclaimed” foodie nowadays. Do you have any culinary training?  Did you study at AI?  Do you even cook?  Not saying that these three things are necessary accreditation to be considered a “foodie”, but it bugs me when people try so hard blogging about food when they have no idea how it was cooked, prepared, the ingredients used, etc. It just makes me cringe a little.

…which brings me to my next point. Blogger. I cringe when my friends refer to me as a “blogger”. I don’t know. I blog for myself. I blog because I enjoy writing. I blog because I enjoy sharing my stories with others. I don’t get paid to do it. When people say “blogger”, they kind of refer to it as some sort of profession, but it’s really not. (but hey, if you can professionally blog, kudos to you…jealous).

[Insert undergraduate program] Candidate. This is hilarious. I always see business kids using this in their signatures. I’ve ranted about this before. The professors in my program actually sent out an angry email via our academic advisor to correct and prevent undegraduate from adding “candidate” in their signatures. Why? Because “candidate” means you’re in graduate school…which many of us sadly are not. Annoying. Stop.

/endrant.

I sometimes feel that there is so much weird shit on my blog that I need to balance it out with some academic stimulation. I hope I was able to rack your brain for a split second.

Leave a Reply

