Have I become…THAT GIRL!?!

That girl. You know, that girl who disappears once she gets a boyfriend? The one who pretty much falls off the face of the planet and you wonder if she is alive? The one who is in permanent MIA status (or who hasn’t updated their Facebook status in x number of days)?!? This is a seriously valid question.

A girlfriend texted me earlier today and told me that I have become one of “those girls”. Seriously!? It’s probably not a big deal and I am sure she was 99% joking (although there’s probably some truth in the said statement), but this is not the person I want to be. Who remembers my earlier blog entries, with posts that were centralized on this very topic and the fact that I completely loathe them!??! Not because I was jealous, but because what I was witnessing was a sad, sad thing, especially when it happened to close friends of mine — which is why I am semi-freaking out on this. I am not one of those girls, dammit. If I were to be, then I would seriously consider myself as a hypocrite.

I see where she is coming from but I don’t think my friends have taken a hit; if anything, it’d have to be this blog. And it’s not because I am so busy in a relationship — it’s because I am suffering from a lack of inspiration to actually write OR the current occurrences in my life are to remain private, not for public consumption. It’s a little bit of both. But despite having a boyfriend who is increasingly taking away more time days out of my week, I firmly believe that I am still upholding my duty as a friend to, well, my friends and privileged acquaintances. I am still maintaining a healthy diet, work out, business, and social life and I have got to say that I have almost perfected my work-life balance. Although my time during the week is limited (for god’s sake, I work at 6am Monday to Friday and weekends are pretty much booked until July), I still make the time to spend it with my friends, despite how crazy/hectic it is trying to coordinate a date that actually works… Chicks (and gay men) before dicks, right?

So, to answer my own question, I do not think I have become one of “them”. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

