Let the “real world” begin.

Convocation is quickly approaching, two days to be exact. Graduation seemed to have slipped my mind over the past few months. I hardly gave the occasion a thought since, well, my last semester ended all the way back in December and I have been working full-time since February. It seemed as if the thrill of graduation had faded — but boy, I was wrong.

I am actually really excited to graduate. It is, afterall, a milestone, atleast in my lifetime. And even though I have been out of school for a semester, this past month has been excruciatingly difficult for me. It’s that neverending battle again — me vs. the real world. Although I am working full-time at the moment, many of you would know that it is not what I want to do. I work in a hotel for god’s sake, hostessing at a restaurant. Is that what I want to do for the rest of my life? No, of course not.  And sure, maybe some people may want to do that, but not me. I feel like I was destined for bigger and better things. This job is just a job to me, to help pay the bills and to fund and support my current lifestyle. I mean, I didn’t go to school to get an education for nothing.

All of this internal tension has gotten me back to square one: what do I want to do with my life? I don’t want the past 4.5 years to go to down the drain. And honestly, my biggest fear is to live my life wasting the privilege I have had and letting my talents and potential go to waste. I sometimes wish that I had more guidance during my undergrad, talked to more people in my industry, and at the worst of times, wish I had studied something else. But that thought itself is such a waste.

After talking with many people in various industries over the past “semester”, I’ve gathered peoples’ opinions on what I should do because really, I was so clueless! I thought it would help give me a push. But no, it didn’t. What it did do was to enable me to see the bigger picture: embrace change. Acknowledge the fact that times have changed and what you do now may not be what you’re going to be doing in the next 5, 10, 20 years. Also, if you want something, go for it. Try it out. Give yourself a deadline. How long can you picture yourself doing this for? Why are you doing this? Is it sustainable? And finally, be a doer. The more you think about things and be indecisive, the more time you are wasting in actually giving it a shot.

Besides my criminological knowledge, this blog post outlines what I have taken away from university. It indicates areas in which I should have asked for help and times where I should have listened to others. All I am saying is that there will be some big changes within the next 1.5 years for me. New opportunities, career, and sacrifice. It’s looking pretty bittersweet. But who knows what the future holds? Dear Real World, bring it.

3 Comments on “Let the “real world” begin.”

  1. Peter says:

    Good luck beautiful from your long time admirer

  2. […] I’ve blogged and blogged and blogged about this little thing called transition. Although I’ve practically […]


Leave a Reply

