My two cents on diets, shakes, and weight loss.

First of all, I am not a fitness expert, nutritionist, or dietition. Second of all…there is no second of all. Read and please enjoy. Agree to disagree.

So, I’m sure you have all heard about this “Body by Vi” product. This is apparently the newest and hottest multilevel marketing (who remembers Monavie?) product. It promises weight loss on a 90-day challenge. And what is the challenge, you may ask? Two shakes (I believe it’s a soy-based protein powder) — one for breakfast, one for lunch — and a light dinner. The whole point of this new shake is to decrease the amount of calories your body is taking in and minimize what you consume; generally, it’s just lowering your overall caloric intake to lose weight. Uh, the last time I checked, this wasn’t rocket science. Isn’t this just pure common sense?

Another fad that I heard about (and also a New York Times Bestseller) was “The Four Hour Body” where the author, Tim Ferris, an award-winning novelist, strictly dictates what you are to eat, meal-by-meal. This diet completely cuts out carbohydrates and encourages consuming large amounts of calories and is very protein (read: meat)-focused. Sounds familiar? Atkins diet ringing a bell anyone?

I don’t know… Maybe I’m being a hater or maybe I’m just being overly self-conscious about my own body because of everybody’s statuses and updates on Facebook or maybe because I’m almost 10lbs heavier than my peak three years ago, but I really think all these diets are just very silly. I saw another update today on Instagram with a very sad looking piece of chicken and sliced tomatoes and thought, “Gosh, do these peoples’ diets have to suffer so much?”.  It just seems that these diets are “quick fixes” or just shortcuts to actually getting in shape, toning up, and losing weight. Because yes, that’s great and all to be relying on smoothies to shrink down a few inches, but how about I check on you in about six months and see if that weight is still being kept off. That is my real concern, that these “diets” are not adequate enough to keep the weight off.

I am an advocate for people who are losing weight and sculpting their bodies in a “traditional” sense. I’m talking about eating healthy, drinking lots of water, and getting enough sleep. My current philosophy on this topic would be to work out often, stay hydrated and satiated, rest, and most importantly, know what you are putting in your body. I am really focused into putting whole foods into my diet. Monday to Friday, on the most part, am vegetarian. I rely on whole grains, legumes, and vegetables and generally avoid gluten, red meat, and if I can, cow milk products. I think the most important part of weight loss and losing inches is largely dedicated to one’s diet aka what food you are consuming and digesting.

Despite my bitterness, I want to say good luck to everyone on their journey to “healthiness”. Who knows, maybe that Body by Vi crap does work for some people and perhaps I am just challenging you to prove me wrong. Either or, I still think it’s a hilarious load of junk. Please stop sending me invites.

Thoughts?

10 Comments on “My two cents on diets, shakes, and weight loss.”

  1. Calvin says:

    intermittent fasting.

  2. L. De Ubago-Sia says:

    If I may, I’d like to share my experience with weight loss supplements….

    I’ve been trying to lose weight for months and many of the modifications I’ve made haven’t really brought me the significant weight loss I needed. I’m an asthmatic and being big just increased my risk of getting an attack. I was hospitalized twice in 6 months and one reason was that I was having a hard time supporting my own weight. I started a “shake diet” last June 11 and so far it has helped me adjust my weight as well as my taste in food. I am happily eating healthier and I no longer crave for sweets or fatty food. It was the fastest and healthiest way I lost weight and for the first time in my life, I feel better about my efforts to lose added pounds.

    It may not work for everyone and may be a topic of criticism for some people but it gave me results and my asthma attacks have gone since I started losing weight. The good thing about it is that it has taught me to eat healthier without me feeling deprived. Believe me, I have tried so many diets and weight loss programs but never got the results I needed to achieve.

    I don’t aim to be on it forever! I just want to get to my desired weight and continue the healthy lifestyle I have already learned to adapt to. In any diet, results vary and maintenance is key. The challenge for everyone who has lost weight is to keep off the extra pounds. What makes shake and supplement diets fail is the inability of the person to adjust to a healthier eating lifestyle after they finish the program. I’m happy to say that (at least for me) the whole shake and meal supplement experience is a positive one for me and that it is leading me to always eat right and stay away from food that may be harmful to me.

    Thought I’d share a positive note about the topic. 🙂

  3. Kym says:

    GIRRRRRL, you already know how i feel about this topic. Haha! I think the downfall of many people is that they’re looking for a QUICK FIX. They torture themselves by doing exercise they hate and eating food they hate (or amounts of food that are ridiculously little) so they can shed that last 10lbs. Like you said, 6 months later or a year later… they have likely returned to square one. EAT WELL, EXERCISE… it’s simple.

  4. Amalia says:

    I am just learning about how simple weight loss is, but its also about patience. I am watching what I eat and tracking calories but not depriving myself. Slowly but surely I’m adjusting to healthier meals and trying to incorporate more veggies and berries and healthier options. My boyfriend will have a rice stirfry for dinner and I’ll make quinoa instead and cut out the sauce. By exercising a lot more (running is my new love!) and making simple diet changes I feel better, but man does it take a long time to show up on the scale or in inches! It’s been three weeks and I’m 2 lbs down. However, I feel like this is normal and I’m starting to just go with the flow. It’s not necessarily about the numbers but about how I feel – which is awesome.


Leave a Reply

