Do you need adversity to gain experience?

I had an interesting chat the other day with my boyfriend. A chat, well, maybe an argument, about adversity.

As there is a relatively large age gap between us, he does have a considerable amount of “experience” on me. He has been exposed to many life”events, both negative and positive, and thus through experiencing adverse situations, has gained valuable life lessons and wisdom. I, on the otherhand, am 22 years young and don’t have as much “experience” as he does yet I think I know a lot, and have been through, a lot for someone my age. Although I haven’t been exposed to as many negative situations as he has (betrayal, backstabbing, being taken advantage of, learning from stupid mistakes, etc.), I believe my experiences thus far have been substantial for a person my age. I have been fortunate enough to have been graced a number of events in my lifetime and have been preventative of stupid decisions by witnessing my peers’ situations that have gone wrong. In fact, I think it’s generally smarter to see where my colleague’s have failed and learned from them to have that not happen to myself. In the end, I believe you don’t need adversity to have sufficient life experience.

Thoughts?

2 Comments on “Do you need adversity to gain experience?”

  1. Sharra says:

    You seem right pissed with that very technical language there =P I think high school is the majority of trauma people go through with other people and after that it’s job-nerves and fear of the unknown. Clearly he never dealt with 15 year old girls during his younger years.
    And I’m with you. Learning from other people is an extremely useful trait. Observational learning is something that successful humans are good at and it applies to EVERYTHING.

    • HAHA! Now that I’ve graduated, I know have to make a conscientious effort to make myself atleast sound somewhat university-educated 😉

      And thank you! I love having people agree with me. He didn’t say it, but it seemed like he was trying to argue that my “innocence” (as in, my lack of exposure to adversity) was not enough to know what “real” life was about. Pft!


Leave a Reply

