Amanda Todd.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the story on this young teen’s recent suicide, I suggest you either Google her name and watch her chilling yet sad story on YouTube re-posted below:

Typically, I don’t usually follow “trendy”, bandwagon-y type of news, but this one was different. It really struck a chord in me. Why? Because I was in her shoes before. I’ve made the same stupid mistakes as her. And yes, there were consequences. Consequences in the form of bullying.

When I was 12, I was horribly bullied by a group of girls that were a year older than me and who went to highschool across the field from my school (yes, I was still in elementary at the time). At this age, I was boy crazy — I had a crush on basically everyone. And even at that age, I loved older guys — hello highschool boys! Anyways, I happened to crush on a particular boy who had not informed me that he had a girlfriend. Basically, shit went down and I was bullied pretty badly (this was way before Facebook — we had Apartment 107). This group of girls and their friends in older grades constantly wrote on my “wall” telling me to go to hell, labeled me as a “tryhard”, nobody likes you, leave the guys alone, no one wants you, etc. They even began to call my house. It was hell. And I couldn’t understand why these people hated me so much. I never did anything to them at all. This continued into Grade 8.

But luckily, my perseverance, optimism, and most importantly, a secure group of friends (that I still have to this day, thank you!), I was able to push through. It eventually got better and I stopped caring. This Amanda girl had no support group. And although she is receiving outpours from tens of thousands of people around the world, where was this support when she needed it?

Bullying needs to stop, I get that. Bullies will always exist but we need proper education in our institutions to full-on combat this. Teachers and authoritative members need to take students’ issues and cries for help seriously. They also require proper and adequate training in dealing with these crises.

Such a sad story.

5 Comments on “Amanda Todd.”

  1. Sharra says:

    I want to make a point about resilience. You are a rather robust person, and your secure group of friends certainly helped, but you can’t really say that because Amanda Todd committed suicide then it must be true that she did not have any form of friends. Everybody is a different, and ultimately she had a critical choice to make at a time when she was alone – whether or not she truly was, it was her feeling. Maybe she called someone and they didn’t hear their phone, maybe they couldn’t answer, maybe her mom was driving. You can’t say she didn’t have anyone.

    The support was probably there. She lost her hold on hope and took her life regardless. I’m rambling because I had a friend who used to worry me a lot. If he didn’t answer for TEN minutes I thought he’d finally killed himself, even though I was there, and he had at least 10 other friends who would have been there in an INSTANT. It wouldn’t have been my fault, or his friends’ faults. She made the choice, unfortunate as it was. It’s NOBODY’S fault.

    • I’m definitely not blaming it on her ABD maybe I was quick to jump to conclusions that she did not have the support

    • Oops, it didn’t let me finish!!

      Anyways. I was saying that it was amazing to see millions of people jump on the anti-bullying bandwagon right away after her story was highlighted. What I mean by that was that everybody was so moved by her story and wanting to help right away but it unfortunately, seems as if her story was sensationalized in the media because she was a very pretty girl with a sad story. If it were anybody else, say a dorky kid with glasses and braces, it would’ve been a different story. I’m just wondering what all those people who were “wanting to help” are doing now.

      And you’re absolutely right – it is all about resilience. It is hard to get right back up only to be pushed right back down and dragged repeatedly. Having a support group out there is definitely important but not the only key to surviving.

      Have you ever watched the documentary, Bully? I think you’d enjoy it. It hits on this very issue.

      • Sharra says:

        I will look into Bully, thanks!

        The band-wagon people ALWAYS annoy me. Most people have probably forgotten about her. One of my best profs though, he has a huge rant about this kind of garbage. Suicide deaths kill more teens than any other kind of death, except for vehicle accidents, and guess what the government does! NOTHING. Bullshit. The other thing is, her school banned her video because it would “give other students ideas” which is also complete bullshit. The people who would “copycat” her were already thinking about it anyway! That’s more of a problem, isn’t it? Ugh, I wish people would just read the relevant research before spouting their stupid philosophies – the principals, teachers, etc, is what I mean.

        And I don’t want to sound insensitive or anything, but she wasn’t that pretty. It was sensationalized because she put up a video with details of her life, and what people don’t realize is that even though it ended with a hopeful type of message, it really was a cry for help. Those things always are. When you’re that far down the rabbit hole, you’re trying to brainwash yourself into believing it’s okay, and believing that it will get better one day. It’s an edge though, and much too easy to fall off. Having moved four times too, she lost supports each time, and felt alienated even if that wasn’t the case since in some aspect of her life she had to get on alone.

        Instinctually, I feel like dorky kids with glasses and braces generate more support while they’re having problems, because most people will look at a child like that and think “dang, she must be picked on” and they’ll do her favours whereas more “attractive” children are assumed to have a kind of “pretty” buffer against all that. Or they’ll look at pretty kids and have “your life can’t be bad, lookit you” sort of attitudes. This boy from my school was like that. He was athletic, on the football team, hilarious and charismatic and about a year after graduation one day he was done. It’s heartbreaking.

        On that same note, y’know, nobody but us noticed him. My friend died in a car crash last year and nobody noticed her either. She got a tiny 4×4 blurb in the 24 hours. If one “pretty” girl gets a bunch of people noticing, it’s better than nothing. I hate that, but it is.

        Oh, as an aside, I think the part of her being sensationalized was that because she put her story on the internet, her family couldn’t stop details from getting out, which is where most silence comes from. It’s hard for the family, but important for the rest of the ignorant world to see, truly see, ALL parts of a story like this.

        Anyway, sorry for the long word vomit. Good discussion anyway =D

      • Wow, couldn’t have said it better myself, Sharra! Great discussion! Makes me feel like I’m in my undergrad again 😉


Leave a Reply

